Fighting Irish Bookshelf

Here we feature books about Notre Dame football, and books by former Notre Dame players and coaches. Watch for occasional updates.

Order “Loyal Sons”

Order from

Order from




Loyal Sons: The Story of The Four Horsemen and Notre Dame Football’s 1924 Champions
By Jim Lefebvre

Finally – a book that tells the story of The Four Horsemen and their 1924 Notre Dame national championship team. In LOYAL SONS, Jim Lefebvre provides the first book-length treatment of this historic season. It’s a story about the sons of miners, grocers and machinists drawn to Our Lady’s university, and how they captivated a national audience.

Ride along as Coach Knute Rockne’s team dazzles opponents and draws record crowds from New York to Chicago and finally at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. We meet The Seven Mules, the “Shock Troops,” and an entire team bound by perseverance, camaraderie and loyalty. The team’s attitude and performance fuel the rapid rise of Notre Dame’s fame as the Fighting Irish become a source of intense pride for Catholics across the United States.

Today’s sold-out Notre Dame stadium, national television contract and coast-to-coast following can all trace their roots to the phenomenon that swept the nation as the Fighting Irish captured their first national football championship in 1924. LOYAL SONS tells how it all happened. This book is a must-read for anyone who cherishes Notre Dame football and its remarkable history.

Read an interview with “Loyal Sons” author Jim Lefebvre